Weapons tangent thread

Discussion regarding the Outsider webcomic, science, technology and science fiction.

Moderator: Outsider Moderators

discord

Weapons tangent thread

Post by discord »

well, as a martial artist i'd take a cricket bat over a baseball bat if i want to bash someones head in....given the choice.

why? smaller cross section at the business end makes for deeper impact cratering, lighter weapon means more velocity and faster 'refire' rate, higher velocity+smaller cross section=more damage, more damage+more strikes per minute=much more DPS.

Smithy

Re: INTRODUCTION THREAD

Post by Smithy »

discord wrote:well, as a martial artist i'd take a cricket bat over a baseball bat if i want to bash someones head in....given the choice.

why? smaller cross section at the business end makes for deeper impact cratering, lighter weapon means more velocity and faster 're-fire' rate, higher velocity+smaller cross section=more damage, more damage+more strikes per minute=much more DPS.
I'm not entirely following you there fella. From what little I know about baseball equipment, and the helping hand of Wikipedia. My own bat is 5cm under a metre long, baseball bats are just over a metre. So your missing out on potential Newton Metres there. Baseball bats apparently can't extend beyond 2 and 3/4 inch. My bat is at its blade limit of 4 1/4 inches and also has a 60 cm long blade so surface area's got to go to the cricket bat.... True my edges are about an inch wide, but good luck hitting people with those, they're not designed for it and well it will split the bat. That and apparently baseball bats tend to be just under a kg, my bats just over a kg and it's a lightweight and they go up to about 1.4 kg.
Last edited by Smithy on Sat Nov 10, 2012 3:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

javcs

Post by javcs »

discord wrote:well, as a martial artist i'd take a cricket bat over a baseball bat if i want to bash someones head in....given the choice.